The Week in Review for 5 Nov 2010

Fri. 05 Nov 2010. 7:54 am

What did we do and find out this week?

My brother is visiting so I didn’t get much done  this week. But he was great in providing a bunch of pictures he took while he was at Stephanie’s house.

  1. I posted a little about Flavia Maria Poelman place of birth on vrouwstraat.
    1. I found some interesting information that will be the subject for several future posts.
  2. I found a number of documents about
    1. When I came to America (twice) from Germany.
    2. Several passport applications for my father, grandmother and grandfather – including pictures – from the early 1900’s.
    3. Prisoner-of-war information about my grandfather, step-grandmother and step aunt.
  3. Research
    1. Information about my step-aunt and her family, the Agostinos.
    2. I looked over Robert Baker’s Newport Family website again to prepare for some future posts.

What’s planned for next week?

The next few weeks are going to be a bit more hectic. We are having some minor home improvements done and the work is scheduled to start this morning.

  1. Research
    1. More on the location where Flavia Maria Poelman was born.
  2. New posts scheduled are
    1. The area in Ghent where Flavia Maria Poelman was born.
    2. Revisit one of the older posts to see what has changed.

Documentation

  1. Updated The Side Isle secure website.

General

  1. The week’s updates for the family tree data and the number of The SIde Isle visitors:

Persons Families Hits
This Week 350 105 988
Last Week 339 98 896

Credits

A special thanks to the following people for providing links, information, comments, suggestions and other contributions for this blog site during the last week.

  1. Kris Newport
    1. For providing me with photographs from Stephanie’s photo album.
    2. For his visit over the last couple of weeks. It sure was a lot of fun.
  2. Stephanie (Delcourt) Vogel
    1. For allowing Kris to photograph her photo album.
  3. Laury (Newport) Parrish
    1. For providing me with a picture of my dad.

Requests

I would like to make the following special requests for your help.

  1. If someone could find any information about Odilon’s WWI records, commendations or photographs. Maybe even take a digital photograph of the one picture where he is standing there in his uniform. Yeah the one that Aunt Louise has
  2. Do you have any vintage (pre-1975) photographs of the Delcourt family you could provide so that I can include them in future posts?
  3. Do you have any vintage photographs of the Marocco family  – particularly when Joseph or Clelia were in their 20′s – you could send me?
  4. If you have already received access permission, please continue to update the Translations spreadsheet. Let me know if you would like to volunteer so that I can give you permission to access it in Google docs.
Leave a Comment

