Le Musée de la Wallonie

Bonjour mes amis. Aujourd’hui nous visiterons le Musée de la Wallonie.Donc, si vous voulez me suivre s’il vous plaît …


Today “Wallonia is the French-speaking southern part of Belgium. It is wedged between Flanders in the North and France in the South-West, while Luxembourg and Germany share its Eastern border.” ~Source

But in the past Wallonia was different. As a-matter-of-fact Wallonia did not really exist as a place but more like an area where people spoke the same language or dialect. I guess you could consider some American communities sort of like that. Have you ever seen CNN put up sub-titles when some American is being interviewed?

So back then, well the 1400’s, Wallonia was part of an area called the Seventeen Provinces.

“The Seventeen Provinces were a personal union of states in the Low Countries in the 15th century and 16th century, roughly covering the current Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, a good part of the North of France (Artois, Nord), and a small part of Western Germany.”

“The Seventeen Provinces were originally held…first by the Spanish and then by the Austrian line. From 1512 the Provinces formed the major part of the Burgundian Circle.”

A suivre …


2 thoughts on “Le Musée de la Wallonie

  1. Pingback: Le Musée de la Wallonie – Troisième partie | The Side Isle

  2. Pingback: Le Musée de la Wallonie – Deuxième partie |

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s