Concerns

Wed. 15 Sep 2010. 1:19 pm

Apparently some people are having concerns about our family histories being online. Personally it is quite satisfying learning how great we all are – as a family and as individuals. Their history helps to tell the story of not only us but of this country and possibly the world. This, in some small way, lets our past relatives stand up and say, “This is me! This is what I have done. I am somebody and someone will remember me.” I can’t think of a better way to be truly immortal.

But this blog is almost as much about the process of discovery then it is about the family data. It’s about finding documents, pictures and information; deciphering them; comparing information between documents in order to substantiate them; and then trying to make a reasonable conclusion. In a way I suppose I’m trying to bring you along with me.

Whether we like it or not this information is there, it’s available and a lot of it is free. If I want more information then there are other websites that charge a subscription fee which can run up to several hundred dollars a year. (Catch the subtle hint?) But there are thousands of web sites that deal with genealogy and family histories including:

  1. http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/
  2. http://beta.familysearch.org/
  3. www.footnote.com
  4. www.ellisisland.org
  5. trilogy.brynmawr.edu
  6. www.glorecords.blm.gov
  7. www.theshipslist.com
  8. www.olivetreegenealogy.com
  9. www.jewishgen.org
  10. http://www.usgenweb.org/
  11. and on and on and on…

If you want to see a comprehensive listing of websites and sources then I suggest you visit http://www.cyndislist.com/. Cyndi has over 272,280 family history links available.

But I understand people’s concerns so I am instituting a new policy effective immediately.

If you want to be informed of new posts via email then you need to specifically tell me that you want me to send them and what email address you want me to send them to. There are a couple ways you can do this:

  1. Send me an email (ghnewport[at]gmail[dot]com) stating that you would like to “opt in” to the updates at your preferred email address.
  2. Leave a comment that you want to “opt in” at the bottom of this post. You will have to include your name and email address.
  3. Use the comment form on the Contact page. Again provide your name and email address.

And there are other options available to stay informed other than by my email updates, including:

  1. Bookmark the website https://newportsnews.wordpress.com/.
  2. Subscribe to the web blog by completing the subscription form at the bottom of the page.
  3. Subscribe to the web blog using an RSS reader.

Also I wanted to mention that I purchased a new genealogy software program. Besides being pretty fancy and slick looking, I can now publish all the name lists, family charts and sources to a secure online site. The keyword here is “secure”. The site will be password protected. If you want to see an example then click this link – http://www.macfamilytree.com/login.aspx?treeid=10425. I haven’t set it up so I don’t know all the details but stay tuned.

4 Responses to “Concerns”

  1. Mary Ann Says:

    put(keep) me on your mailing list! You are answering questions I have wondered about…. Thank you and keep up the great work!

  2. Kris Says:

    I love what you’re doing. I greatly appreciate the professional manner in how you write, making complicated tangibles into simple connections, and the devotion of your time to this effort. Thank you my favorite brother at command central.


Leave a Comment

