Flavie (Poelman-Goens) Delcourt

Mon. 06 Sep 2010. 2:18 pm

After several emails Mary Ann and I came to the conclusion about what Flavie’s last name is and how it changed. This conclusion is based more on deductions than on documented proof, although I did manage to have someone tell me a little bit before the conversation suddenly changed.

  1. Mary Octavie UNKNOWN born (1863)
  2. Mary Octavie UNKNOWN marries H. POLEMAN
  3. Flavie POELMAN born (1893)
  4. Jules GOENS comes to America (1913)
  5. Flavie POELMAN and Mary Octavie POELMAN come to America (1914)
  6. Mary Octavie UNKNOWN divorces H. POELMAN
  7. Mary Octavie [Unknown] POELMAN marries Jules GOENS
  8. Flavie POELMAN adopts the surname GOENS
  9. Flavie [Poelman] GOENS marries Odilon DELCOURT (1919)
  10. Mary Octavie [Unknown][Poelman] GOENS dies in California (1955)

I’ll go into detail later, but until I see evidence then this is the story I’m sticking with.

Kris has been going through the Ghent parish records he found the other day. They cover 9 parishes from about 1584 to 1796. Right now Kris is going through the records and putting the information, of people that maybe related, into a spreadsheet.

To give you an idea of the work involved see the list of the parishes and the number of pages of possible family names per parish. There are a lot of names so that should keep him out of trouble for awhile.

  1. Sint-Baafsparochie
    1. Delcourt (13)
    2. Poelman (21)
    3. Timmerman (26)
    4. Temmerman (90)
    5. Vanderbrugghe (2)
  2. Sint-Jacobsparochie
    1. Delcourt (7)
    2. Goens (1)
    3. Poelman (7)
    4. Timmerman (10)
    5. Temmerman (32)
    6. Vanderbrugghe (1)
    7. Colpaert (10)
  3. Sint-Pietersparohie
    1. Delcourt (5)
    2. Goens (1)
    3. Poelman (7)
    4. Timmerman (1)
    5. Temmerman (58)
    6. Vandenberghe (1)
    7. Colpaert (252)
    8. Colpart (13)
  4. Sint-Martinusparochie
    1. Delcourt (0)
    2. Poelman (21)
    3. Timmerman (1)
    4. Temmerman (41)
    5. Pomelle (1)
    6. Vandenberghe (2)
    7. Colpaert (13)
  5. Sint-Niklaasparochie
    1. Delcourt (1)
    2. Poelman (12)
    3. Timmerman(s) (9)
    4. Temmerman (30)
    5. Vandenberghe (1)
    6. Colpaert (9)
  6. Sint-Michiels Noord-parochie
    1. Delcourt (3)
    2. Poelman (25)
    3. Timmerman (7)
    4. Temmerman (25)
    5. Vandenbergh (1)
    6. Colpaert (13)
  7. Sint-Michiels Zuid-parochie
    1. Delcourt (1)
    2. Poelman (9)
    3. Timmerman (5)
    4. Temmerman (14)
    5. Vanderbrugghe (1)
    6. Colpaert (8)
  8. Sint-Salvatorsparochie (Heilig Kerst)
    1. Delcourt (2)
    2. Poelman(s) (80)
    3. Timmerman (17)
    4. Temmerman (25)
    5. Vandenberghe (9)
    6. Vanderbrughe (1)
    7. Colpaert (7)
  9. Huwelijken Spaans Kasteel
    1. All spanish names

And there will definitely be more posted on this later.

6 Responses to “Flavie (Poelman-Goens) Delcourt”


  1. […] back at the post on 6 Sep 2010 where Mary Ann and I deduced information about Flavia and her mother. I wanted to see how close we […]


  2. […] Marie Flavie Poelman Posted on 29 September 2010 by Glenn Earlier this month I wrote about Flavie (Poelman-Goens) Delcourt and how, unless I saw evidence of something different, I was going to stick with the names and […]

  3. Glenn Says:

    I’d like to clarify that the parish records are only for marriages during that period.

  4. Glenn Says:

    The only Goens I’ve found around the correct time period is Jules/Julius/Julie GOENS and a Victor GOENS. From what I have I can deduce that Jules/Julius/Julie are all the same person. I know that “Julie” is wrong from what my mom said to me.

    What is really interesting is that, compared to the other names – Delcourts, Poelmans, Timmermans – there are so few records of people named Goens from Ghent.

    And I can remove comments from here.

  5. Mary Ann Says:

    And now that I looked again!!!!
    I see them in the the first to parishes.
    my bad 😦 !
    How do I erase a previous post?

  6. Mary Ann Says:

    Maybe I should have asked: Are there no Goens in those records yet?


Leave a Comment

