More About Emiel Poelman

Tue. 24 Aug 2010. 10:00 am

The other day I mentioned that I noticed the name Emiel Poelman listed on the same manifest as Jules Goens. Was there some connection between the two men?

So I want to check and see who Emiel used as a reference back in Belgium. It appears his reference is a Mrs. Belwair(?) who lives at 77B  Turfolstreet Heiruis [see REVISION 2013-06-13 below] in Ghent.

Doing a Google search for Turfolstreet or Heiruis comes up blank. So I tried different spellings. When I Googled “Turfstraat” I find it in the city of Gent. So maybe the person writing the manifest thought they heard Ghent? I don’t know so for now I’m just going to assume the address is the street Turfstraat in the city is Genk. So far no connection with Jules Goens.

But there is sometihng strange here. Did you notice above the 77B Turfstraat there is the address 77 Turfstraat – and the name Madame Colpeat? Then above Emiel’s name is the name Adolf Colpeat. I don’t know what the connection is but I’ll be checking into this.

Back to Emiel…let’s see where he is supposed to be going to.

Now THIS is a surprise. Emiel is going to his cousin who lives at 568 Holcomb Ave in DetroitAug De Geuteuar! That is the same person and address we saw the other day. So if this information is true then Emiel Poelman and Jules Goens are somehow related with Aug De Geuteuar being the cousin for both men.

I’ll have to see if I can find anymore information on Aug (Augustus?), Emiel, Jules and the Colpeats.


This is an amazing advertisement I found for a 1915 Maxwell automobile. Turns out Maxwell was taken over by Chrysler.

Google Books: The Detroiter. Vol. VI, No. 1, October 5, 1914. Page 8.

 

[REVISION 2013-06-13: revise “Turfolstreet Heiruis in Ghent.” to “TARBOTSTREET heirnis Gent.”]. Thanks Antoine.

6 Responses to “More About Emiel Poelman”

  1. Antoine Verstuyft Says:

    Hello Glenn,

    A uncle of Flavie Maria (Poelman) Goens is Emiel Poelman, the brother of Marie Octavie Poelman. The name of the street is not “Turfolstreet Heirnis Gent”, but it is “TARBOTSTREET heirnis Gent.

    Groeten, Antoine Verstuyft http://www.verstuyft.tk


  2. […] Assuming these are the same people we talked about in the posts on Marie Poelman and her husband Emiel Poelman then there now seems to be a connection between all these people. And my mom told me the other day […]


  3. […] Assuming these are the same people we talked about in the posts on Marie Poelman and her husband Emiel Poelman then there now seems to be a connection between all these people. And my mom told me the other day […]

  4. Glenn Says:

    After running the name “Colpeat” through the Ghent parish records I doubt that is the correct spelling but instead should be spelled “Colpaert”.


  5. […] line is a Raymond Colpeat, age 11. I wonder… is this Emma Colpeat the Madame Colpeat we saw the other day? I might think so since Emiel Poelman and Adolf Colpeat arrived together the previous December […]


  6. […] Skip to content HomeContactDocumentsEllis Island ManifestsPeopleFamily TreesGoens Family TreeMarocco Family TreeList of People ← More About Emiel Poelman […]


Leave a Comment

