So what is Glenn up to now?

Mon. 16 Aug 2010. 8:07 pm

First of all I want to say thank-you to Mary Ann for giving me the idea to start this website/blog by asking me some questions about the RMS Olympic Ellis Island ship manifest that I posted on another blog on August 8th.

So with that then the purpose of this website/blog is to pull together and share our family stories.In some way I think we all want our story to be remembered for our descendants. And we all have a story to tell.

The question is how do we tell it so that it seems interesting and dynamic?

Just reading the facts about someone – you know, born this date at this place and then died somewhere on that date – to me is pretty boring! I like know a little something about their story. I like to get a feeling for who they are and what they may have experienced.

And I like pictures. They’re easy. Words and facts get all confusing – like all this stuff I’m writing here. BUT add a picture and boy it changes your understanding of the people involved.

For example I can write

…our relatives came through Ellis Island around the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Maybe you’re like me and just reading that doesn’t really mean a whole lot.

But if I do it this way

All of our relatives that came through Ellis Island around the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries…

Ellis Island
Main Ellis Island Admin

Well you really get a better feel for what they saw and felt too. So maybe we can understand them, and us, a little better.

But I need your help.

For now just look around at the pages I have put together here so far and then leave your comments and suggestions in the boxes at the bottom of each post or page.

If you’re feeling really motivated, then proof the List of People page and email me any information that you want to add or correct.

Finally I want to say thanks to all you guys who take the time to read this.

Leave a Comment

